All I want for Christmas…

The problem with starting a blog about your dating life is that if there is no dating life, it doesn’t make for a very exiting blog. Going on more dates – any dates, I’m really not in the position to be picky – is a resolution for 2012. But till then, I have a few more days to be lazy and dream about the men that I’d really like to date, but realistically never will.

My oldest friend in the world, who probably knows me better than anyone, sent me this Christmas wish this year:

That list includes pretty much all of my favorite men at the moment. Some (Robert Downey Jr., Leonardo DiCaprio) have been around for years. Some are newer additions. But all have qualities that, in an ideal world, my future Ted Mosby will have. So what are they? Let’s take a look, shall we?

Leonardo DiCaprio

Gorgeous blue eyes that I’ve dreamed about since I was 15 years old. Incredible talent and the knack for making quality professional decisions. (Not so much personal ones, though we’ll let that little Blake Lively experiment go.)

Kris Letang, aka Sexhair

Um, yeah. This. That’s all.

Brooksie, aka Brooks Orpik

Toughness to rival any athlete out there. Loyalty and leadership. Intelligence. (He got into Boston College. I did not. Advantage Orpik.)

A Canadian. Any Canadian.

They’re nice. They appreciate cold weather and hockey and Tim Hortons.

Sidney Crosby

Incredible maturity, dedication, and leadership, all at the age of 24. Concussions not wanted.

Robert Downey, Jr.

Humor. Bouncebackability. More hotness. And he can sing.

“That hot guy from The Hangover whose name I can never remember

That would be Bradley Cooper. This one is purely sexual, though if he wants to speak French to me I wouldn’t tell him no.

Ryan Kesler

Second only to Brooks Orpik in hockey toughness, but with a better sense of humor. Oh, and there’s this. And this.

Seth Meyers

Funny. Intelligent. Left political leanings. Steelers fan. So, pretty much perfect.

So there you have it. If anyone can put one of them under my tree this Christmas, I’ll be eternally grateful to you. If not, well then help me find someone who has some of these qualities in 2012. Till then, I’ll keep watching this for flirting tips and the complete giddiness I feel watch Seth giggle like that.

12 thoughts on “All I want for Christmas…

    • Oh yes, Jon Stewart is definitely on my full list too. I dream of the day we sit around with Jason & Seth & eat Greek food & laugh a lot.

  1. For a second, I thought you were trying to steal my Brooksie (although with those beautiful blue eyes, esp in high def, I couldn’t blame you!)

    • This list is far from complete. If my friend had written the entire list of fictional boyfriends, there would be no white space on the card. 🙂 That said, the glaring admissions are Jake & Ryan Gosling.

  2. I think in my “old age” the funniness quotient (a la Seth Meyers) has become hugely important. Enter Paul Rudd. Sure, there’s still JT, Eminem, Channing and Matt Damon but Paul Rudd is sexy AND smart AND funny.

    I think Seth Meyers is a perfect Brenna Soul Mate!

Leave a Reply

