Last Christmas, I gave you my heart…

I hope everyone out there had a wonderful holiday. I did, but it was a weird year. Our closest cousins were in Florida, my grandmother is in a nursing home, and my brother went to his girlfriend’s family’s on Christmas Day, so it was a pretty quiet weekend. I used to complain about driving all over western Pennsylvania to go to various family gatherings with my ex, but this year was the first one where I kind of felt sad about not having that.

I just wasn’t feeling the Christmas spirit this year to begin with, so maybe this is why I noticed it… but there are a lot of really sad Christmas songs out there. It’s a joyful time of year, but it’s also really melancholy – especially if you’re away from family, or if you’re in love with someone who’s not in love with you, which seem to be the two recurring themes of sad Christmas songs.

Vince Vance & the Valiants – All I Want for Christmas is You

A much sadder song than the Mariah Carey version with the same name. Mariah is singing the same sentiment – screw presents, I want you! – but with an uptempo beat and jingle bells. This one gets to me more.

Elvis Presley – Blue Christmas

Many others have covered this, but Elvis sets the gold standard, right?

Judy Garland – Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas

Fun fact about this one that you may not know – it’s from the musical Meet Me in St. Louis, and Judy Garland’s character is trying to cheer up her little sister as they prepare to move away. This has always been one of my favorite carols – maybe because while it’s a little bit sad, it’s also very hopeful. (And I like to keep the original lyrics in – until then, we’ll have to muddle through somehow…)

Bing Crosby – White Christmas

Every Northerner who now lives in the south or west sings this song, without fail, every year.

I’ll Be Home for Christmas

I don’t have a favorite or original version of this song, so I’m picking the incomparable Kelly Clarkson, who can sing anything she wants to me. Again, if you can’t come home for Christmas, or even if you can but you’re missing home in the weeks leading up to it, this one is for you.

Wham! – Last Christmas

Ok, maybe it’s hard to feel sad looking at that video and those clothes and that hair. But deep down, this song is about a bitch who broke up with her man right after Christmas. We can all relate to that.

So there you go. I hope you had a merry Christmas. I hope you had snow, and family, and loved ones nearby. And I hope next Christmas you won’t need to give your heart to someone else. 🙂

One thought on “Last Christmas, I gave you my heart…

  1. I would like to add “Please Come Home For Christmas” by the sorority girl fav Bon Jovi to this list. It’s one of my top 5 fav Christmas songs and “Last Christmas” is my #1. Does it say something about me that two of my top 5 are incredibly sad?

Leave a Reply

