First date, survived.

I’ve never received a marriage proposal on a first date, but when you’re out with a Pittsburgh guy and you mention your family has Steelers season tickets, apparently this is what happens.

I suppose if being proposed to is the sign of a good date, then this was a good one. It wasn’t the most spectacular date of all time, but conversation was fairly easy, mostly because when you share a hometown you can fall back on topics such as favorite Kennywood roller coaster, Primanti’s sandwiches, and the awful defensive performance of the Penguins this postseason. But while conversation flowed easily, sparks were somewhat lacking. He was a nice guy, and it was a pleasant evening, but I didn’t wake up the next morning still thinking about him. I wasn’t ecstatic to hear from him the next day, and while I’ll go out with him again, I’m not counting the minutes.

Now I’m sure that most dates most people go on are awful, so I should be thankful that I didn’t want to bolt for the door after twenty minutes. (And if the wine-induced headache after a good first date is any indication, I do not want to experience the migraine that comes after a bad date.) There were definitely aspects to him that piqued my interest and made me smile – his claim to know how to cook, for example, or saying how much he loves New Girl. And you never know – date #2 could lead to date #3 and so on, and before I know it I’m showing off the view from the family’s seats at Heinz Field. Or, I could trek out to Queens for date #2 and have a thoroughly miserable time. But the truth is, I don’t really care at this point.

I’ve spent a lot of time over the past two and a half years being bitter and angry and closed off. I’ve done a lot of complaining about not meeting new people, but at the same time, I’ve managed to mess up a few opportunities that have arisen. In a city of over eight million people, I suppose the least I can ask for is an enjoyable night – or two, or three – with a guy with whom the conversation flows. It feels good to be back in the game, at least for a night, and it makes me excited at the prospects out there.

2 thoughts on “First date, survived.

  1. B~
    Congrats on surviving your first date! I had a similar experience on mine. I was so nervous, I was afraid I might puke, but five minutes in, it was clear we had a lot to talk about and that he wasn’t a serial killer.

    Despite all that, the chemistry you speak of was missing, and though nothing ended up developing there, my putting myself out there for the first time was a crucial step in getting back into the game. I’m not gonna lie – it’s rough out there and I’m still in search of that exciting spark, but in a lot of ways, we’ve already completed the toughest part.

    Good luck!

  2. I’m really happy for you. That first date is the worst…but you made it 🙂 Also nice that you’re giving him a second shot…just because fireworks didn’t explode on that first meeting isn’t the be-all end-all of something. Takes a little time with some people. Just be proud you got that first one out of the way!

Leave a Reply

