My Happiness Project.

Today is Monday. Usually I would be sad about this, but Monday means that last week is completely behind me, and with it the awfulness of packing, moving, unpacking, dealing with my ex, dealing with my ex-roommate, and more unpacking.

So this is a new week. And with a new week and a new apartment comes a new outlook. I’ve had a few friends read The Happiness Project, and despite hearing mixed reviews, I like the premise. So here is my promise on this beautiful Monday evening: no more moaning and groaning about what’s bothering me. No more dwelling on the bad. I’m starting fresh, and I’m committing myself to making myself happier. No one else is going to do it.

And I’m starting here, with the things that are making me happy now and the things that will make me happy in the coming months:

  1. New apartment! It’s not perfect, but I love certain key aspects of it:
    • Laundry in my building. If you have never lived in a city and have never had to drag your laundry outside in the middle of January, you can’t possibly appreciate how amazing this upgrade is for me.
    • My view. I didn’t even have a window in my old bedroom, and now from the 33rd floor, I can look down on northern Manhattan.
    • My French roommate. I studied abroad in Paris, and I minored in French. After seven years of learning the language, I was pretty damn good at it. Then I just stopped using it. So my first project is to get back in practice speaking one of the most beautiful languages in the world.
  2. Lochte is Schmidt! I can’t believe I didn’t think of this on my own.
  3. Jeremy Renner’s butt finally getting the recognition it deserves. Having a great butt myself, I know a fellow great butt when I see one. And I also know that great butts should mate with other great butts. I don’t even want babies, but I would make beautiful, ass kicking, Journey singing, awesome butted children with that man. It’s just survival of the fittest (butts). (Example #2 of this phenomenon: Sidney Crosby. We would make beautiful, talented, hockey playing, awesome butted, dual citizened children.)
  4. Seeing The Bourne Legacy in five days. I feel like I’ve been waiting an eternity for this movie, when it’s really only been since May. (And you’ve been waiting an eternity for me to STFU about Jeremy Renner.)
  5. Football in three days! Yes, it’s preseason football, which is barely football. But real football is just under a month away, and with football comes cool autumn afternoons, sweaters, boots, and pumpkin spice lattes.
  6. Planning my Pacific Northwest adventure. In less than two months, I’ll be seeing friends I haven’t seen in far too long, celebrating a sure to be beautiful wedding, and checking new cities off of my travel list.
  7. Learning something new. I want to take a class this fall and stimulate my mind or body a little bit more than it’s currently being stimulated. The problem is, I want to learn so many things (I know, I’m a dork), and I can’t narrow it down to where I want to start:
    • Playing the guitar. I’ve been saying this for a year and a half now. I need to just do it.
    • Another language – Russian, maybe. Not the most practical, but I’ve always been drawn to the language. (And if I’m going to Sochi in 2014, I should start to learn!)
    • Dancing. Not necessarily to learn something new, but to practice something I love and really miss doing.
    • Improv or storytelling or comedy. A friend did a storytelling class recently, and she was fantastic. I’m a lot better at writing my stories than speaking them. I can revise 80 times before I hit publish.
    • Archery. We took an introductory class over the weekend, and if this place wasn’t out in the farthest reaches of Queens, I’d keep going back to attempt to actually improve. It was fun. But it’s a little too far away to mold myself into a Manhattan Katniss Everdeen.
  8. Just relaxing. Enjoying the great things about New York in the summer – movies in the parks, outdoor drinks at beer gardens, late sunsets over the Central Park Reservoir, ice cream trucks on the corner. I lose sight of it sometimes and concentrate on the negatives, but New York really is a magical place in the summertime.

Just listing them, I feel better already! In the rest of this summer and this fall, I’m going to be a confident, happy woman. I’m going to set goals and meet them. And I’m not going to care if I don’t have a date to talk about them with. Any guy out there would be so lucky to try to keep up with this girl.

4 thoughts on “My Happiness Project.

  1. First, awesome and appropriate article on Jeremy Renner’s butt. You just made my morning with that link. And seeing as I’m wearing the most awesomest dress to work, just because I wanted to, that means something extra. 😀

    Also, you should totally take an improv class. I LOVE LOVE LOVE mine! The best 2 1/2 hours of my week, honestly. It is the one place where when my mind goes to the crazy places it inevitably goes to, and I say it all out loud, everyone goes with it. The crazier the better. I never have to edit myself in improv class like I have to 99% of the rest of the time.

  2. Hey. I found this page by googling Sidney crosby ass. haha

    Anyway, did you take that pic of his butt?

    Because this person, today, is saying she took it recently.

Leave a Reply

