The inaugural HIMTM red carpet awards.

So I have a lot of time on my hands, and last night was the Emmys. And normally, I’d sit at my desk and waste time looking at dresses all day long, but instead, I’m sitting on my couch looking at dresses, wondering why E! is airing Married to Jonas instead of red carpet coverage. (And also wondering, why is Married to Jonas a show? Was there really that much interest in the Jonas marriage to warrant a show, or have we literally run out of ideas in the world?)

Simply put, I love awards shows. I love ripping apart ugly dresses I could never afford and coveting gorgeous dresses I could also never afford. I love seeing Jon Hamm in a tux, because really, the man should never not wear a tux. I love any reason for Connie Britton, Mindy Kaling, Zooey Deschanel, and Lena Dunham to hang out with Jimmy Kimmel. And I love Amy Poehler. Amy Poehler should win all the awards. I don’t know what happened in the Poehler/Arnett marriage (and quite frankly, I’m still devastated about it), but Will, if you left this woman, you are an idiot. If this beautiful, talented, smart, hilarious woman can’t get it right, then there is really no hope for the rest of us.

Further thoughts on the Emmys, because you really care what I think about these things:

The dress I would totally wear: Sarah Paulson

The dress I wish I could pull off but know I never could: Padma Lakshmi

The Amy Poehler & Will Arnett memorial please don’t ever break up award: Jon Hamm and Jennifer Westfeldt (but if you do, Jon, totally call me)

The dress that reminds me of a bridesmaid dress I once wore: Kelly Osbourne

The dress I should hate but I actually love: January Jones

The dress I thought I hated but now I look at it again and I kind of love it: Hayden Panettiere

The guy I find oddly attractive and I’m not entirely sure why: Aaron Paul (and whoa, his fiance)

The oh honey, your face and hair look so great, but that dress is just so terrible award: Lena Dunham

The weirdest dress that is somehow working: Julianne Moore

The I would look better on your arm award: Seth Meyers

Just perfection: Cat Deeley

Just perfection part two: Lucy Liu

Just perfection part three: Zooey Deschanel

The “wait, the invitation didn’t say come dressed as a mermaid?” dress: Julianne Hough

The “wait, the invitation didn’t say come dressed as a mermaid who’s a Vegas show girl?” dress: Sofia Vergara

Angela Chase still looks weird to me with blond hair, but she is rocking that dress: Claire Danes

The 90s ruled and I’m so glad they’re back award: Carson Daly

4 thoughts on “The inaugural HIMTM red carpet awards.

  1. I love Sarah Paulson and I totally want that dress! Cat Deely is a fashion idol of mine (most of the time). Have you seen The Choice? She is the host and her clothing is definitely edgier than on SYTYCD. I like it (though I couldn’t wear half of it). Also the Choice is such a fun reality tv show, it’s my guilty pleasure.

    • I have only seen clips of The Choice… she is just flawless in my opinion, definitely a fashion idol of mine too. I wish I could dress the way she does!

Leave a Reply

