Going off the grid.

I’m taking a little bit of a hiatus.

Don’t worry, I’ll be back. My life is way too ridiculous, and I have way too much to say to ever stay silent. But this week, I just haven’t been feeling it. I expected to be really upset by losing my job, but the truth is, I’m just not. I’m bored and impatient, yes. But rather than depressed, I’m kind of excited. Excited for what’s next, excited by reading job postings that I know I’m qualified for, strangely excited to go on interviews. I’m sure this excitement is likely to yield to frustration and anger once the rejection letters that are bound to come start to arrive. But right now, I don’t know, I just feel… good.

It’s been awhile since I’ve been able to say I’m truly happy. But at 10:30 on a Tuesday night, after going for a decent run on a gorgeous autumn afternoon, spending a quality two hours with my favorite ladies on television, listening to the new Green Day album, and putting the final touches on my Pacific Northwest adventure… at this precise moment, despite being unemployed and single and poor in the freaking month of September, I’m actually, completely, unequivocally happy. I just am.

Still, I’m taking a bit of a break from blogging. I’m going off the grid.

I’m all, I don’t play by your rules! I can drink at 11… AM.

Unfortunately, I don’t have a Nick Miller in my life, so I can’t hang out at the bar and go off the grid at 11am. But what I can do is save my writing energy for cover letters, and then I can go on vacation and spend a week with good friends and new people and then (hopefully) come back to a badass new job.

I have a strange, good feeling about this fall. I see good developments coming my way. It’s been a struggle over the past few years, and this is one more mountain I have to climb, but I feel like there’s something worthwhile on the other side. (And now I feel like I’m singing a Miley Cyrus song. Please make it stop.)

I don’t know exactly what it coming, but I see risk taking and rewards and finally getting my shit together.

So as I go off the grid for a little bit – just a few weeks, I can’t stand to be quiet much longer than that – I want to thank you all for taking the time to read this over the past ten months. Thank you for the kind words and the support, for getting mad when I’m mad and for laughing at me when I tell you about a swollen eye on a date. I may not always enjoy everything my crazy life throws at me, but I so always enjoy writing about it, and I will definitely be back to it soon. I hope you’ll still be here reading.

I leave you with the song I’ve been listening to all day today… As I have mentioned, the past few Green Day albums have come out during pivotal periods of my life. Their latest was released today, and it’s much more upbeat and much less serious than their last two albums. I’m not sure if that lightheartedness is having a positive effect on my mood as well, or if I’d be in a good mood regardless, but listening to them today has been putting a smile on my face. My favorite song on the album will likely change eight times in the next few weeks, but tonight it’s a sweet, simple, almost romantic song that I keep playing on repeat.

I don’t have any analysis on it. Just the song, and that I really like it.

So good night, friends. I won’t be gone long.

2 thoughts on “Going off the grid.

  1. Pingback: Nodds & Nends: Videos Galore and a Fringe Poster « Absurdly Nerdly

Leave a Reply

