Introducing… September Songs

A year ago this month, I lost my job.

It was a kick to the stomach in the middle of a month that I am already typically on edge during. Now, I’m in a much better place than I was a year ago, all things considered. I have my own (albeit very tiny) apartment, I have a job that I love, a commute that is so much more manageable, and to be honest, despite spending half of the past year without a job, it was a lot of fun at times. But I still can’t help holding my breath for the next 30 days, just wondering.

I knew I wanted to do something on the blog to commemorate September. I thought about a blogging challenge, but to be honest, I couldn’t commit to writing a full post everyday this month. However, I could commit to something that took a little less effort but brought me just as much emotional release (and hopefully some entertainment for all of you out there) and celebrate getting through the past year and the upcoming month all at the same time.

So this is the inaugural posting of the September Songs. The premise is pretty simple and self-explanatory: every day in September, I’ll post a new song. It might be how I’m feeling that day, or it might be related to something going on in the world, or it might just be a random song I really love. I’ll do some writing too, but the focus this month is music, so if you don’t care about that, come back in October! (Kidding. Please don’t go away.)

September 1: Ghosts That We Knew – Mumford & Sons

I had the incredible privilege of seeing Mumford & Sons last week in a really unique venue, and the concert exceeded even my insane expectations. They played all of my favorites – Thistle & Weeds and Dust Bowl Dance were two personal highlights – but it was this song that really caught me off guard. See, I usually skipped over this one when listening to the album. But that all changed last Wednesday, when I heard the absolutely gorgeous live rendition – a version so stunningly beautiful that, while listening to the SiriusXM broadcast of the concert this afternoon, I completely missed my bus stop because I was so into this song.

I love the lyrics, now that I’ve stopped to actually listen to them, and I thought they were appropriate to kick off the month:

So give me hope in the darkness that I will see the light
‘Cause oh that gave me such a fright
But I will hold on as long as you like
Just promise me we’ll be alright

But the ghosts that we knew made us black and all blue
But we’ll live a long life
And the ghosts that we knew will flicker from view

And we’ll live a long life

Leave a Reply

