Take this sinking boat and point it home.

September 19: Falling Slowly – Glen Hansard and Markéta Irglová

 

This is usually the point in September when I start to get really bitter and cynical and cranky. I can’t afford to do that this year.

What I’d like to be doing this weekend is locking myself in my apartment with a bottle of wine and my favorite breakup songs, while watching all of season five of Breaking Bad (season four, holy shit, you guys) and wondering exactly how unhealthy it is that I love Jesse Pinkman so much.

What I’ll actually be doing this weekend is working at a NASCAR race in New Hampshire, so I kind of have to be on my A game.

So I’m trying something different this year. I’m pulling what I imagine to be a move right out of Ted Mosby’s playbook, and I’m going to flood all of my senses with my favorite reminders that love exists. Starting with music. For the next few days, it’s love song headquarters around here.

I’m going to start with what might be my favorite songs ever written. It’s haunting and melancholy, but so un-apologetically romantic. In one of my (many) dating fantasies, I’m dating a guy who can sing and play the guitar, and we sit on the shore of a lake all alone singing this next to a fire. (That fantasy might involve Kris Allen. Or Lee Dewyze. Or the guy who played Guy in the absolutely gorgeous Broadway musical version of Once… who sang to the titular Mother that my man Ted Mosby has been searching for for nine seasons. And it all comes full circle…)

Anyway. I love to listen to this song. I love to sing this song. Enjoy it today and think of someone you love, or used to love, or want to love.

One thought on “Take this sinking boat and point it home.

  1. This song is painful for me to listen to because it reminds me so fully of my big ex an our first days. I still try to avoid it at all times. But I forced myself to listen today. So that I can be reminded that love changes. And we meet people in our lives when they are suppose to be there. For better or worse.

Leave a Reply

