Adventures in online dating, continued.

I don’t really make New Year’s resolutions, because I never, ever keep them, but I thought the new year would be a good time to attempt to do the online thing. Again. As you may recall, I’ve had little to no success in that arena, but I’m not meeting men anywhere else, and I don’t believe in sitting around whining about something without actually trying to do something about it.

So I played around a little bit with OKCupid, which I’ve tried before, and Tinder, which a friend told me she was having moderate success with. And the following is just a sample of what I encountered.

photo 1

Apparently balling does not include knowing the difference between there and their.

photo 3

This was an actual photo that someone used. I repeat, an actual photo from a 35-year-old man.

photo 2

STAY OUT IT, NICK LACHEY.

photo 4

SCREW YOU, TINDER. HE ISN’T REAL AND I HATE YOU FOR THIS.

So there you have it. This is what I got on the free versions… last night I got an email offer for one of the paid sites, so I figured I’d spend the equivalent of one NYC beer a month to attempt to meet some new people. If I get a few beers in return (or at least a few entertaining blog posts – anything for the story, after all), I’ll consider it a solid investment. Stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “Adventures in online dating, continued.

Leave a Reply

