How’s New York? What’s new?

I just got back from Christmas break at home, and as anytime I go home, I get a plethora of “how’s New York? what’s new?” type questions. And usually I deflect them – “New York is good, nothing much new” – and allow the other person to tell me about their life. Usually their kids, or their home renovations, or their new car. I sit there and I think, I don’t have kids, I don’t have a house, so my news and my life isn’t as important as theirs. They’re going somewhere. They’re doing important things.

I don’t like to brag. Never have. And furthermore, on the average day, I don’t feel like my life is that interesting. I don’t think I’m doing really exciting things, because here in New York, what I do is not unique. I don’t go to the trendiest bars or I can’t afford to go to the most expensive restaurants, or my apartment is roughly the size of your closet or I don’t have an important job. I have friends here who have been on television or have run marathons, friends who go on exotic trips or know the best craft beers available anywhere in the city. To me, my friends here are much more interesting. I feel very average.

But somewhere during the fourth or fifth day of “how’s New York? what’s new?” questioning, I started to get mad at myself. New York is great, I thought. There’s a reason I choose to live here – to pay a lot of money for that closet-sized apartment, to deal with how frustrating everyday tasks are here, to fight with the subway on a daily basis. I live here because New York is awesome, even if you’re a single 33-year-old woman living in a closet-sized apartment alone. Hell, especially if you’re a single 33-year-old woman living in a closet-sized apartment alone.

So my New Year’s resolution is twofold:

  1. I resolve to get back on a regular blogging schedule. I miss writing. I have a lot of thoughts. I just got so busy and stressed that I chose to lie awake staring at my ceiling instead of writing them down to calm my mind and going to sleep. I won’t do that anymore. This place is a priority for me.
  2. I’m not going to sulk about what I don’t have. I don’t even want kids or a house in the suburbs – so why should it bother me that other people have those things? What I will do in 2015 is appreciate the things I do have, that I’ve had the opportunity to do because I don’t have the kids or the house in the suburbs. What I will do is brag a little.

2014 was a pretty good year. In the past 12 months, I:

  • saw a lot of incredible theater, including:
    • “The Glass Menagerie” with Zachary Quinto
    • reigning Best Musical Tony winner “A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder”
    • Harry Potter (or Daniel Radcliffe) on Broadway again in “The Cripple of Inishman”
    • Ted Mosby (or Josh Radnor) in “Disgraced”
    • Walter White (or the incredible Bryan Cranston) in “All The Way”
    • “Much Ado About Nothing,” for free, at Shakespeare in the Park (costarring my beloved Prince Oberyn or Pedro Pascal), miraculously without having to stand in line
    • “Cabaret” starring Alan Cumming and Michelle Williams, and
    • “Hedwig and the Angry Inch” with Andrew Rannells;
  • went to a Martin Scorcese/Leonardo DiCaprio retrospective, during which Leonardo effing DiCaprio did a Q&A sitting about ten feet from me;
  • went to a screening of “The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby,” followed by a Q&A with Jessica Chastain and James McAvoy and the sexiest accent alive;
  • went to a Q&A with Josh Radnor and maybe only 50 other people, during which my friends and I realized that despite him emphatically saying he is not Ted Mosby, he 100% is Ted Mosby;
  • crashed a New York Film Festival party, during which Edward Norton walked right by me;
  • attended tapings of “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver” and “Late Night with Seth Meyers;”
  • actually spoke words to Seth Meyers and didn’t pass out;
  • managed some really high profile events and sponsorship activations for some of the most recognizable brands in the world;
  • got a promotion;
  • visited four new cities: Las Vegas, Austin, Miami, and Charlotte;
  • walked the mile or so from my apartment to one of the greatest art museums in the world on a regular basis;
  • ate at some incredible restaurants;
  • went to a variety of book readings, walking tours, lectures, and exhibits;
  • saw the Penguins emphatically beat the Rangers at Madison Square Garden during the playoffs;
  • saw the Rangers emphatically beat the Penguins at Madison Square Garden during the regular season;
  • admired the Rockefeller Center Christmas tree and the 5th Avenue decorations;
  • debated “Serial” over cocktails with friends;
  • and walked through Central Park any time I wanted.

That’s how New York has been, and that’s what’s new with me.

This blog has evolved over the past three years – from a place to come to terms with heartbreak and work through personal demons to the musings of a somewhat stable woman on what it feels like to be single in New York. I have no idea what this place will be in the next year. I hope 2015 is even better than 2014. I hope I see much more theater, explore new places in this city, see new things and exhibits and people, and heck, maybe go on a date or two or take an actual vacation to a new place. Whatever happens, though, and however much I hate dragging my laundry a block away to wash (never underestimate what a luxury it is to have laundry in your house, people)… no matter what, I resolve to not compare where I am to where you are. This isn’t a competition. Your path is different from mine – that doesn’t make it better or worse or more desirable or more right. This is a blog about my path… wherever it may lead.

Happy new year, friends. Let’s make this a great one, no matter where it takes you.

2 thoughts on “How’s New York? What’s new?

Leave a Reply

